About video on my blog

So, I wonder whether the quality of online video is of high enough quality to do justice to my kind of work. I have to say that I don’t really mind video noise and artifacts in my work (sometimes I actually try to create them in my editing or taping techniques) in the same way that I don’t mind chance sounds creeping into a recording or during a performance as I feel they add to the experience. Within reason of course. But evenso, I think I am probably more tolerant than my audience. And my appreciation is based on years of listening and musico-philosophical development that the average audience member may not share. Although, I am increasingly surprised by the sophistication of some folks I meet at performances. I am aware of production techniques that can optimize internet video viewing and plan to employ them in the future.
So, how do these images come across? As a revaluing of spontaneous art, improvised text and video or as sloppy and amateur-ish. I’d be interested to know. Course, I haven’t gotten any comments on my blog since I set it up close to a year ago so I’m not getting my hopes up. I’ll look into getting more exposure. Any comments on that process also appreciated…umm…

About DHeila

I am a copy editor at Best Ever Edit (please visit my page at BestEverEdit.com) and a songwriter/composer. My creative efforts are chronicled (sporadically) at SlowdunkExpress.com.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to About video on my blog

  1. matt mc says:

    i struggle with this issue as well. i have come to accept that internet video viewing only really works with a certain kind of video: something short, quick to the point, and isn’t too visually based. i like video on the internet, but right now it has to either be it’s own thing, or just serve as a representation of what the movie actually is. sort of like pictures of paintings; you can get an idea of what the work is about, but you aren’t really seeing the work.
    but i guess i am not answering your question! i like seeing your videos here- maybe the best thing to do is just write a bit of a disclaimer (this was meant to be seen on a big screen…)

Leave a Reply

