At the Fair

Another song from my demo CD Daniel Boone’s Fault. It’s called At the Fair

http://www.danielheila.com/MediaPlayers/player-viral.swf

At the Fair

It’s the end of summer
and you’re bored to tears
killing time, looking forward to the fair

You’ll probably sneak in
through the hole in the back gate
it’s easy to do during the firemen’s parade

at the fair

Sno Cones and taffy
sausage and peppers
trying not to notice some carnies look like lepers

An empty beer can
in your hand
you’re too young to drink but you pretend you can

Chorus
at the fair
meet me at the fair
all our friends will be there
we can hang out on the midway
ride the ferris wheel at the end of the day

Verse
Teenagers gather
behind the livestock hall
the boys have the girls pinned up against the wall

Fat girls flirting
with skinny fags
they carry goldfish in plastic bags

at the fair

You freaked out on a ride
so the carny let you off
people laughed so you walked home in a huff

later that night
sleeping in the backyard
the lights from the ferris wheel compete with the stars

Chorus
at the fair
kiss me at the fair
hug me and I’ll smell your hair
lead me on in that special way
break my heart by the end of the day

copyright 2009 Daniel Heila
published by Indestructible Beat of Podunk Press, ASCAP

About DHeila

I am a copy editor at Best Ever Edit (please visit my page at BestEverEdit.com) and a songwriter/composer. My creative efforts are chronicled (sporadically) at SlowdunkExpress.com.
This entry was posted in Songwriting. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

