A goat and a microphone were wandering around whiteaker one night…

So, I’ve been going to the Goat’s Open Mic every Monday now for about a month or so. I’m really starting to get into the vibe. There are a few regulars that play pretty much every week. It’s good to get to know their stuff. Then there are random folks who stop in, do their thing and then vanish. Some of these acts are surreal. Very Lynchian. I enjoy those acts as much as the more polished ones. Some serious Fringe Folk kind of talent.

IMHO there is value to any creative effort if it has focus, commitment and authenticity. All of which, of course, is very hard to define and very easy to imitate. But when I hear it I know it. The megalomaniac bi-polar dude whose been living up on the butte may actually have something to offer me if I keep my ears open. Mind open. Heart a little less protected. All the same, I do not consider him a “natural genius” of some sort, nor do I attribute to him the wisdom and experience of a life long creative artist. That is beside the point and a bit naive. Something freshly rebellious youth are prone to. What he offers me is a moment out of my comfort zone and an opportunity to consider his plight (to be mentally ill in our society is to be in plight).

About DHeila

I am a copy editor at Best Ever Edit (please visit my page at BestEverEdit.com) and a songwriter/composer. My creative efforts are chronicled (sporadically) at SlowdunkExpress.com.
This entry was posted in Shows, Songwriting, songwriting and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

