Goat Mic Update

A man and a woman are on the stage. He has an acoustic bass guitar which he plays like a six string – strumming full chords. This is a very full sound – too full. She sits to the side and quietly strums her guitar and sings self-consciously and quietly. He sings beyond his technical abilities and sounds like he is in pain. If I silence the critic and listen sideways it works. Sort of. After a few songs they walk off but the MC asks them to play another tune. The bass player defers to his band mate and after a moment, she agrees to play. He leaves the stage. She sits down and plays a very confident Latin Jazz kind of rhythm guitar intro. When she sings her voice is sultry and elastic. Beautiful sounds. So why was she so demure and submissive in the first combo? And, why hasn’t she influenced the vocal technique of her band mate? I start to wonder about their relationship and how the power dynamic probably favors his creative efforts. I wonder how many talented people are kept quiet by this kind of arrangement. Am I being unfair? Maybe. I tell myself to shut-up. The next act is ready so I refocus my attention.

About DHeila

I am a copy editor at Best Ever Edit (please visit my page at BestEverEdit.com) and a songwriter/composer. My creative efforts are chronicled (sporadically) at SlowdunkExpress.com.
This entry was posted in Critique, Shows, Writing and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

